God In the Storm

I am at peace, and I am content. Inside myself, I can feel stillness. Everything around me is moving, but I’m standing still. I’m the calm in a storm. I can’t help but smile because I know that this peace is a peace that surpasses all understanding.

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

This week has been so busy. I’ve been observing at the schools. I’ve been swimming in seas of homework; I’ve been crawling through my work shifts. I’ve gotten tearful calls at what has seemed like the worst of times. All around me I feel like everything was falling apart. I started to get overwhelmed. I was on the verge of a mental break down.

images

In church today, we took a moment to genuinely thank God for all of the things that has been going right in our lives. I bowed my head with thoughts of ungratefulness clouding my mind.

Enter moment of clarity:

God has supported me in every way. I have an amazing husband. He has blessed us with finances and come through even when I thought we would be short on money. He has provided Zach and I with a great relationship. Even though I’m suffering through injury after injury, he has held me upright. I am bogged down with homework, yet I am finding time to get it all done. I woke up today, yesterday, and the day before. I am thankful for my adorable kitties. I am thankful for my family. I’m thankful for the weather, the changing leaves, and everything else I can see. I was shocked to tears with all of the things I’m blessed with.

It’s so hard to forget when things are hard, BUT GOD IS ALWAYS THERE. He never leaves. He doesn’t turn you to your own devices. He wasn’t watching me carry my heavy load. He walked beside me the whole week. He kept asking me if he could carry anything, but like the stubborn girl I am, I pulled things closer to me still.

Instead of being frustrated and stressed, I should have turned to God to calm my storm. I’m constantly finding myself in a struggle to give things over to God. Luckily for me, he is always willing to help me learn.

He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed.

3 responses to “God In the Storm

Leave a Reply

