My Ephiphany: Here’s to DigiWriMO!

What am I going to do for DigiWriMo? I tossed this idea around for days. I searched the web, and I perused through pages and pages of daily creates. I tried to think of a wildly creative project. I wanted it to be something big, and new, and exciting.

I wanted it to be so grand and perfect, that I got lost. In desperation, I tweeted out to #digiwrimo. It was a plea for help, advice, or anything ideas. Kevin Hodgson tweeted me back with a barrage of amazing ideas. Though I didn’t find anything in particular caught my eye, I found many ideas that I could change to fit my needs. Through this, I had learned two lessons.

IMG_2562

  1. Breathe. Stop overthinking it. Obsessing over achieving perfection is one of the most detrimental approaches to creativity.
  1. DiWriMo is meant to be fun. The challenge is supposed to get the creative juices flowing. Instead of finding something that I’m interested in, all I had managed to do was dig myself into a hole of worry.

Yesterday, I bought a book that I’ve been meaning to read for a very long time. It is the last in the series of City of Bones. I bought it for my kindle, which I also have left untouched. In fact, I haven’t read a book for pleasure in over a year. Back in the day, when I had ample amounts of time, I plowed through a new book every other night (literally.)

I started the first chapter to serve as a brain break from my homework. Two pages in and I was HOOKED. So badly hooked that my husband took my kindle from my hands and reminded me about my mountain of homework.

Reading used to be my favorite hobby. Now, after reading just a few pages, I realized how deeply I’ve missed it.

After that epiphany, I had one question left to answer: how do I integrate that into DigiWriMo?

Today I realized that I don’t remember much of what happened in the previous book. I googled reviews to see if I could find a couple of reminders. That was when the answer to my question hit me like a ton of bricks.

bricks

The review I found of the book was from a blog. Wait a second… I blog. The post contained hilarious and perfectly tailored gif images to emphasize the author’s points.

The wheels in my head began churning like a madwoman. I have never worked in that sort of space, and I have definitely never blogged reviews. It was all so new and foreign, but it was all so exciting.

Photo on 11-4-14 at 2.21 PM

So here it is. I’m going to commit myself to reading more. What I read, I’m going to review online, and through media spaces that I have never before utilized. There truly is something for everyone.

If you are still stuck for ideas, remember to slow it down and stop overthinking it. Tweet out to the twitter page; I’m sure someone has many brilliant ideas for you. Look for something that interests you, and above all, make sure you have fun doing it!

3 responses to “My Ephiphany: Here’s to DigiWriMO!

  1. Pingback: Goals -Thoughtful Thankful Thursday (Day 6 of 30 Days of Blogging) | Web Often·

  2. This is an awesome idea. I have been trying to think of a way to keep up my blog when it isn’t required. I hadn’t thought of book reviews, but it’s a great idea! I actually realized that the only things I bought while Black Friday shopping were books (of course). Maybe I will try to do something similar, and maybe movies too. Thanks for the tip, I am glad you found such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

