Writing God’s Word On My Heart

I don’t know about anyone else, but I often find it difficult to make time for the word of God. I have many excuses. I don’t want to wake up earlier to read. I have way too much homework. Today has been so busy. I’ll do it later. I’m tired.

In the past couple of weeks, I have felt a longing for God like who one misses a close friend. When a large enough amount of time has elapsed without hearing from my best friend, I feel a deep longing to call her and be comforted by her voice. I was missing God with those same lonely pangs.

So like I would with Abby, I picked my best tool to get a hold of God. My bible.

I didn’t really know where to start, so I just opened up to Romans and began reading. As I took in the words, I felt my loneliness dissipate. Instead, I was filled with complete peace. I felt home again. I felt whole.

Why do I do this then? Knowing that spending time in God’s presence restores me, why is it that I choose to walk away?

This past Sunday, Devon Davis gave a sermon that brought me to my knees. James 1:19-27 was the topic. The message was about listening to the Word, and then actually doing it. I have found myself trapped in a rut where I have barely been listening, let alone doing.

Sitting in my chair, I began to see more clearly the road I have been walking. It hurts me to say that there hasn’t actually been much walking. I began to pray, asking for forgiveness and for the strength to continue moving forward in a meaningful way.

After the service was over, I could feel God asking me to do something. It was actually an idea that I had tossed around but was too apathetic to start. I drove home from church, and I searched around for a note-card. In my neatest script, I wrote Philippians 1:1-6 on the top of the paper. Then I copied down the verses with a steady hand and changed into my running clothes.

Off to practice I went, my scripture in hand.

Yeah, I know. My best script isn't the best.

Yeah, I know. My best script isn’t the best.

The first couple miles moved under my feet with ease. I thank my God every time I remember you. Mud was flying up my legs. In all my prayers for all of you. The dirt road would continue for miles and miles, and so would my journey down it. I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. After 6 miles, I had reached the halfway point, and I was feeling the fatigue. Being confident of this. Our pace was getting faster and faster, which was the goal. That He who began a good work in you. My chest is aching and blisters have made their way underneath my calluses. Will carry it on to completion. I have one more mile left, one more. Until the day of Christ Jesus.

My run was over, and half of my card was written on my heart. When I was finished, I reflected on my twelve-mile journey. Meditating on God’s word during that time made me focus on Him. Creeping thoughts of negativity were forced away with the new lines I put into my memory. Frustration was buried with repetition upon repetition.

Romans 12:12, “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

This is how I want my life to look. When things become difficult, I want to have God’s Word ingrained in me. I’m writing His Word on my card, and also on my heart.

Yesterday marked my journey to memorizing all of Philippians 1. Wish me luck.

2 responses to “Writing God’s Word On My Heart

  1. Loved reading this Nicky because I have felt the need to put God’s word and His plan for me more in the forefront of my life. It may look different for me but I can understand where you are at. Hoping your memorizing goes well!

Leave a Reply

