One Week of Reflection: #specmethods

Coming into this Special Methods class, I didn’t know what to expect. I mean, I had a small idea. But so far my expectations have been blown out of the water. I got to see the methodology behind a class that lasted almost three hours but somehow only felt like one. So much was presented to me, and thankfully I’ve had this whole week to process it all.

Over the course of this week My mind has been heavily preoccupied with the notion of what kind of teacher I want to become, versus the kind of teacher I might become. My thoughts have been filled with new ideas that, before this year, I had never even known was an option.

I have been reading with an open mind, trying to soak in everything possible that might help me figure out exactly what my direction is. I’ve come to find that I still have no idea. I don’t know what my classroom will look like, how things will operate, or how in the world I’m going to function leading a group human beings in something so important to me.

I have learned that reading in my free time is incredibly difficult due to the fact that I don’t actually have much free time. I have learned that my writer’s notebook will forever be sloppy and disorganized, but it’s definitely honest. I’ve learned that I’m sloppy and disorganized, and I should probably work on that a little bit before I’m trying to lead a classroom.

Who I am doesn’t always seem to fit the bill of who I think I should be. I want to be confident, adventurous, and courageous in my class. I have some growing to do as a future educator, but I’m so thankful I have my Special Methods course to give me a stronger sense of direction.

Here’s to a fabulous semester of learning!

One response to “One Week of Reflection: #specmethods

  1. Truly, I’ve always been sloppy and disorganized, and while I often vow to be different, it never sticks. And disorganization has ultimately been a virtue. Because I can never find any of the materials I used last year, I’m always doing different things–and usually better things. I do think that not knowing, not being sure, is one of the best places we can possibly be as teachers. As soon as I’m sure, I’ve got to quit teaching.

Leave a Reply

