Slice of Life: Listen to the Melody #SOL15

slice of life

Head on his shoulder.

I watch his fingers

lightly trace the strings,

nimbly finding the rhythm

he has just heard. I marvel

at his confident hands paving

a path. I am envious of

the fingers that so easily

find their home. I look at

my own hands. I remember

their clumsiness. I remember

fumbling. Frustration. Finished

with trying. Both because my

teacher quit, and because I

hated feeling inadequate. I watch

his fingers. I watch

them travel a well-worn

trail. I find comfort in his ease.

He carves a path. I’m

content to listen to

the melody.

6 responses to “Slice of Life: Listen to the Melody #SOL15

Leave a Reply

