Summer #bookaday Challenge

So summer is right around the corner, and I could not be more excited.

  1. School will be over. The slow torture of my mind can cease.
  2. I CAN READ WHATEVER I WANT WHENEVER I WANT.

That’s right, no more mind-numbing readings. No more analyzing the symbolism in the landscape of whatever piece I’m knee deep in. No more breaking down more sentences grammatically, bit by bit. No more journaling on every little article I read (yes, I realize I’m being overdramatic).

I smell freedom, and the beautiful scent is enough to carry me through these two short weeks.

When escape comes, I am absolutely ready to tear through my reading list.

A few of my top picks for this summer are:

  1. Boy Toy by Barry Lyga

9780330423878.jpg

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

9780718157838.jpg

3. Twisted Tree by Kent Meyers

411IuaKg5xL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

4. The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith

the-way-i-used-to-be-9781481449359_hr.jpg

These are a few of the books I will be reading as I participate in Donalyn Miller’s #bookaday challenge. Anyone can participate, and it is as easy as it sounds. Simply read one book a day, picture books, graphic novels, kids lit, anything goes. If you miss a day, that’s fine. Read two books on one day and average that out. The point of the challenge is to be actively reading every day.

In order to keep myself accountable, I’m going to share the titles I’ve read on Twitter using #bookaday. Not only will this encourage me to keep reading, it will help me share my titles with others, and it will help generate more books to put on my TBR list.

I plan on beginning my book-a-day challenge March 16th and ending August 14th.

For the summer, I’ll be staying in the Gering area. I’m incredibly excited for all of the library opportunities. I’ll have both the Gering and Scottsbluff library at my fingertips. Hopefully this provides me with a wide variety of reading opportunity.

My plan is to try and keep a consistent time to read. I’ll be running in the mornings, so in the afternoon is probably my best bet. Thankfully, I will traveling a lot this summer. Long car rides will afford me the opportunity to binge-read if I need to catch up on a couple of days.

I’ll be reading a book a day. It’s not going to be an easy commitment, but I’m sure I’ll be able to look back on all of the books I’ve read with a sense of accomplishment.

What works for you? When will you start? When will you end? How can you get books? How will you stay motivated? Make a plan!

91 books. 91 opportunities to build my reading base for my students. Bring it on, summer!

 

8 responses to “Summer #bookaday Challenge

  1. I am also ready for summer. Mainly because there will be no homework, and I will be able to do whatever I want in my free time. I really am interested in the books you have chosen to read this summer. You will have to let me know how they are!

  2. Your books look fantastic!! I saw Me Before You on your list, and I must say that that is a wonderful choice. I absolutely LOVE that book. Your summer reading experience is going to be awesome I can already tell!

    P.S.- Boy Toy is definitely interesting. It wasn’t at all what I had expected when I read it; you’ll have to let me know what you think!

  3. Boy Toy is one I’ve been wanting to read, but I’m afraid it will really bother me too! I am such a wimp when it comes to reading. You do have some good libraries there to use. Will you read picture books too? I think they’re so valuable for middle school. I’m going to try to read more of the books on Donalyn Miller’s slideshare of the best of the year so far: http://www.slideshare.net/Donalynm/best-books-of-2016-so-far-march-2016-by-donalyn-miller Lots of good stuff here!

    • I’m really hoping to get a ton of picture book in. My secret goal is 100 books this summer because I’m obsessed with even numbers. Picture books will help me get there, and I’m also really interested in reading picture books to my students. I’m not very familiar with them, so I’m hoping to build up some good knowledge. 🙂

      Thank you so much for this link, this looks awesome! My goodreads list is about to grow.

  4. Good luck Nicky! That is very ambitious, and I commend you on that. I don’t think I could do this. I look forward to hearing about the books you read this summer.

Leave a Reply

