It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR 10/2/16

imwayr-2015-logo

Last week and the start of this one has been a spectacular in terms of reading. Everything I have read, I have loved. Especially the graphic novels, 5/5 stars for each of them.

anya's ghost.jpg

Anya’s Ghost is quirky, funny, and just a little bit creepy. So basically, right up my alley. I absolutely loved this book. To be honest, I binge-read it in one sitting. Anya is a Russian immigrant who is just trying to blend in. She falls into a well and accidentally stumbles upon the remains of a long dead girl. After she accidentally grabs a bone in her scramble to be rescued, she finds herself bound to a new friend and companion. I didn’t see the twist coming and I LOVED IT. So so GOOD. 5/5

americanbornchinese

American Born Chinese started off as three unrelated stories, all equally compelling. The novel rotates between a boy desperate to fit in to American culture, a Monkey King who attempts to master the world around him, and a cliched and uncomfortable Chinese stereotyped character. On the surface, none of these stories have an intersecting point, yet Yang finds a way for the tales to cross paths and converge. 5/5

awkward-1

Awkward might be my favorite graphic novel ever, which I guess might not mean a lot since I really just started reading them this semester. BUT GUYS, it was so cute! I absolutely fell in love with the illustrations. Chmakova seriously has a talent for delivering facial expressions ranging from comical, to adorable, to tragic. Jaime, the adorable brainiac who is bullied for reasons I can’t fathom is probably the best thing to happen to literature. Ever. 6/5 Can I do that? Yeah, 6/5.

born-to-endless-night

I am almost done with my guilty pleasure, which is unbelievably sad. Where else am I going to find another series of short stories that threads beautifully with one of my favorite worlds?? Born to Endless Night is the 9th installation in the Shadowhunter Academy series. When a warlock baby shows up on the steps of the academy, Magnus Bane is the only one who can take it in. He’s not exactly daddy material though… The plot is unfolding in hilarious ways and I am hanging on to every word.

beloved

I am currently 60 pages into Beloved and I’m slowly getting more and more enchanted. I’ve never read a slavery novel like this one before. Sethe is actually a “free woman” but her past and her memories has kept her in chains. She can’t forget Sweet Home, and she certainly can’t forget the loss of her baby. Suspenseful, dark, and lyrically written.

 

 

6 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR 10/2/16

  1. Oh, I recently finished “Beloved” and what a book. You are right…it is like no other that I have read either. If you read much on slavery, and if you read nonfiction on slavery, may I suggest “Another Name for Slavery.” WOW! One powerful book that blew me away in the fact that slavery did not finish with the end of the Civil War.
    Thanks for some other recommendations.
    also @ The Reader and the Book – https://thereaderandthebookreviews.wordpress.com/

    • Thank you so much for the recommendation!! I seriously love both historical fiction and nonfiction. I’ll be adding that one to my TBR list. 🙂

    • I agree with you, Jane! I can definitely see so many students absolutely loving this book. I think it will be a great staple in my future classroom.

  2. Beloved was my first Toni Morrison novel – it is the kind of life-changing novel that will tear you into pieces. 🙂 Love seeing so many familiar graphic novels that I’ve read and loved here as well. You may want to check out Roller Girl too.

    • Thank you so much for the recommendation, Myra. I’ve actually read Roller Girl before, but I think I need to revisit it because it was really my first experience with a graphic novel and I don’t think I appreciated it as much as I should have.

Leave a Reply

