It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR 10/24/16

imwayr-2015-logo

This week I am finally out of the graphic novels Dr. E gave me, so I’m going to have to run to the library! It’s exciting news for me. I’ve tried so hard to force myself to read graphic novels and now I’m actually really loving them. They are my absolute best friends on my morning biking sessions. I can usually finish one in the time it takes me to finish my workout. It’s so amazing! So here it is, my weekly reading! Almost all graphic novel, one contemporary novel thrown in there.

primates

Primates: The Fearless Science of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Birute Galdakis was so awesome! I loved the artwork, especially the drawings of the primates and their various facial expressions. The graphic novel was a really honest look at obstacles each woman faced as they attempted to learn more and share their findings. 5/5

zita

Zita The Spacegirl was absolutely adorable. I loved all of the different alien characters who were just so spunky and quirky. Such a great story about bravery, self-sacrifice, and friendship. 5/5

mystery-boxes

The Mystery Boxes was not my favorite graphic novel, but pretty good. It’s a mashup of a bunch of different stories that have to involve a box in the story. Some were really great short stories, some fell pretty short for me. 3/5

anne-frank

I am picking up Anne Frank from the library tonight after practice. When I was younger, I read every book about Anne Frank I could get my hands on. I haven’t read this one though, so to the library it is!

dr-jekyll

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is another library run for me tonight. This graphic novel is a retelling of the classic and set to pictures. I’m am really excited to read this!! I think a book like this has a lot of potential for my future English classroom.

white-noise

White Noise is my contemporary lit book for the week. I’m just shy of 100 pages in, but I’m really loving it. Delillo is consistently making art with his words and pointing out beautiful metaphors that can be just a tad haunting as well.

4 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR 10/24/16

    • I definitely agree with you there! There are so many different books that span so many different genres and contents. I am absolutely loving the world of graphic novels so far.

  1. Look at you and the graphic novels! Sounds like you’re entirely hooked. I’m trying to figure out what I want to give you next. Let me know when you’d like to come by for a new bag of books. I thought Primates was quite interesting–and left me wanting to know more about all of the women profiled. There are at least two more books in Hatke’s series about Zita–all very enjoyable.

    • I wouldn’t mind a little bit of everything! 🙂 My favorites I think were Anya’s Ghost and Awkward if that helps with the selections. But variety has also been incredible, so I will read anything you give me. I’ll look back on my email about your office hours and try and set up a time from there. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

