It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #11/14/16

prideofbaghdad

I was shocked and horrified by The Pride of Baghdad. The images were so graphic and compelling. Parts of it were definitely hard to read, but I thought the book was so so so worth it. I might have cried for the family of lions, but it was such an honest look at how war ravages absolutely everything. 5/5

FriendsWithBoysFEHicks.jpg

Friends with Boys was a light-hearted graphic novel that looks at serious issues. What does it mean to be haunted literally and mentally? Maggie certainly knows. Not only is she tormented with the fact that her mother left and the nagging guilt that it was her fault, but Maggie is also haunted by the ghost of a century-old widow. Maggie must come to terms with her mother leaving as she negotiates the new-found position of being in high school and making friends. So many tender subplots! 4/5

sandman

I am reading The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes in a my contemporary lit class. I can’t say that I don’t like it. I guess I’m intrigued and horrified at the same time. I find myself wanting to cover my eyes, but unable to stop turning the pages!

relish

I just started to Relish last night! Personally, I love food. I love cooking food. I love looking at pictures about food. I love reading books about food. So far, this graphic novel has been thoroughly enjoyable. I absolutely love that Lucy Kingsley adds her actual recipes!! YUM.

 

One response to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #11/14/16

  1. So glad you have Relish to read after Pride of Baghdad. The latter is a necessary book but so brutal. We had an interesting discussion in the Graphic Novels class about why wartime violence against animals horrified us more than some of the violence against humans in other war-focused graphic novels we read.

Leave a Reply

